Why Join the Canadian Ferry Association?

The members of the Canadian Ferry Association  represents all major ferry routes in Canada.

CFA encourages high standards of operation, representing the interests of the industry across Canada and brings the strength of a unified voice to our sector.

  • Strength in numbers. By representing the sector as a whole, the association is able to achieve our members’ objectives where individual operators may struggle.
  • Networking with other operators. Canadian Ferry Association members have access to the “members only” section of our website, with a detailed registry of members and vital contacts in the sector. CFA members are also invited to members-only events and get a discounted rate at our annual conference
  • Engaging the federal government. CFA regularly lobbies and participates in discussions with senior federal officials. What better way to ensure your voice is heard, than to join our association?
  • Make your company better. The Canadian Ferry Association is developing a Best Practices Library, which will include valuable resources to help our members increase their revenues and improve their businesses.

Honorary Life Members:

  • Captain Trafford Taylor – Retired Executive Vice President, New Ship Construction of BC Ferries and CFA Board Member since 2000
  • Gerard Leblanc – Retired CEO of CTMA
  • Murray O. Ryder – President Coastal Transport Founding CFA Member 1987 and Treasurer
  • Jean-Yves Gagnon – Retired President of Société des Traversiers du Québec and founding President of CFA 1991-1993
  • John A Cormier – Retired vice-president of operations and human resources-Bay Ferries Limited and former Chair of the Board of Directors (1993-1994)
  • Honourable David Anderson – PC, MP – Former Minister of Transport Canada (1996-1997)
  • Captain Mike Carter – Retired Vice President of BC Ferries – Former Chair of the Board of Directors (1995-1996)
  • Honourable David Collenette – PC, MP – Former Minister of Transport Canada (1997-2003)
  • Honourable Chuck Strahl – PC– Former Minister of Transport (2010-2011)

List of Current CFA Members